Balloons over Wright   Leave a comment

Saturday, 19 March, 2016

There I was in bed, telling myself off for not getting up before 6am in order to drive down the parliamentary triangle to watch the balloonist taking part in the annual Canberra balloon spectacular, prepare and launch their creations into the early morning light. ‘Only one more day to do it’ telling myself, as tomorrow morning is the last time the forty to fifty balloons would be partaking in the mass lift-off from the lawns in front of the Old Parliament House.

Waking up in time wasn’t the problem, just the act of getting out of bed was my trouble this morning, especially as I’ve been getting up early all week to go into work because we’re extremely busy at the moment. Anyway, I had just resigned myself to the fact that I was staying in bed, when I heard the unmistakable sound of a large gas burning letting rip! Surely not, I thought as I jumped out of bed to check outside. Sure enough, just clearing the apartment block opposite mine was a massive hot air balloon.

I got dressed as quick as I could, grabbed the camera went out onto my balcony to be greeted by the sight of twenty or so balloons taking off from the Mt Stromlo nature reserve just across the road. After taking photographs of these, I noticed that the Royal Australian Air Force balloon was still on the ground preparing for take-off, so I decided to take a walk over that way to see if I could get some decent close-ups of it. As I approached it, I was delighted to see that the ‘new’ RAAF balloon, in the shape of a pilots helmet, was also be readied for take-off.

As they both ‘took off’ at the same time, I got some great shots of them clearing the trees and flying straight over the top of me towards my apartment block. Rushing back that way, I managed to catch up them in time to get some decent shots of the ‘Helmet’ with the apartments in the foreground.

I wonder if we could arrange for them to launch from Mt Stromlo at least once during the next few balloon spectaculars, mmm I feel an email coming on…

Posted March 19, 2016 by yermandownunder in Canberra Events, Observations

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

