Manly to Taronga Zoo Hike   Leave a comment

Monday, 28th December, 2015

After meeting up with cheeky chops Lucy and her mother Lauren at the Circular Quay wharf terminal this morning, we took the ferry over to Manly for breakfast on the beach side cafe.

The forecast was for a coolish day with a slight chance of a bit of rain, so what better day for me to try out the Manly to Harbour Bridge walk I’ve been hearing so much about recently, WRONG. Woke up to the sound of rain pelting it down and even after consulting the weather app, which told me it was just a passing shower, it continued to rain throughout the trip across the harbour on the boat and during our breakfast. So much for our planned hour or so on the beach, so we opted for a stroll along the boardwalk in order to show Lucy the surfers in the sea.

On the way back to the ferry terminal I was still undecided as to whether or not to take on the hike, but seeing as it had stopped raining and it looked as though it was brightening up, I decided to go for it. So at around noon, a lot later than I had planned, I bode Lucy and Lauren goodbye and set off along the harbour side coastline towards Spit Bridge and Sydney CBD beyond.

This first section is around 9km in length and well signposted, even allowing for a slight detour part way through due the pathway being washed away by a high tide a few months back. Not that I needed direction or a map, as all I had to do was to keep an eye out for the steady flow of people coming towards from the other direction! It seemed that Spit Bridge to Manly is the favoured way to go.

However, once you get to Spit Bridge the numbers coming the other way dropped off massively and I found myself weaving through some very nice real estate until I hit another reserve and the coastal path again which took me into Balmoral, where j had lunch at another beach side cafe. Suitably refreshed, I struck out again to take out the next section of the hike to Taronga Zoo. Probably the best bit of the hike, as the path hogged the coastline dropping into and out of various coves along the way, with the added bonus of passing some historical sites as well.

I had planned to give myself 8 to 9 hours to complete this walk and with a planned 9am start, I would have done it no problem even with lunch, a swim and multiple stops for picture taking and chats thrown in for good measure. However, with my late start I was conscience that I wouldn’t be finishing the hike until 7 or 8 o’clock in the evening. Unfortunately I had made other plans, so I decided to end the walk after 22km at the Taronga Zoo ferry wharf and jump on a boat back over the harbour into Circular Quay, so that could sort myself out for my date at the IMAX theatre in Darling Harbour.

Posted December 28, 2015 by yermandownunder in Observations, Out and about, Travels

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

