Mt. Tennent   Leave a comment

Saturday, 17 May, 2014

As I look out of my office window every day, there’s the beautiful sight of the hills in the Namadgi National Park. Dominating this vista is Mt. Tennent which raises to a height of 1,375 metres (4,511 feet) which is hardly Mt. Everest, but still looks impressive especial on a beautiful crisp autumn day.

And so this morning, I found myself getting up early, donning my boots and other hiking gear then driving out to the Namadgi National park visitor centre which is located at the foot of the mountain. I called into the centre to see if there were any restrictions in place on climbing the hill today, only to be told that I should sign the book located at the entrance to the mountain and to let them know when I returned down the hill. So after taking a quick look around the grounds of the visitors centre and signing the book, I started on the way up the well-defined path to the summit.

I took my first pit stop at the Cypress Pine Lookout about 45 minutes into the climb and I must say I needed a break. At this point I got a little confused on which route I should be taking and spent a good half hour wondering up and down the track looking for the correct way to go. I eventually found the correct way to proceed and soon found myself in the middle of a large boulder field through which the path picked its way through. This section of hike was very steep, but the way that the path had been constructed made progress relatively smooth and easy. Just beyond this section I took another rest at what looked like a junction of several major routes. Here I spoke to several other hikers making their way up the mountain and along the other routes, some of whom told me that the journey back down would be even more difficult that coming up!

The remainder of the trek up to the summit was along what looked like a fire trial which became very steep at times until, as I rounded a corner, I found myself at the top. To be honest, the top of hill was I little disappointing as there was no definite lookout point from which I could survey the surrounding countryside. The highest point was occupied by what looked like a Fire Watch tower and this was surrounded by trees and rough bush land. I hang around for a while, firstly to eat my lunch and also to chat to some of the hikers who had made it to the top, these included Sandy and Russell from Tuggeranong who were making their second attempt on getting to the top.

‘What goes up, must come down’ is the old maxim, so I reluctantly started my descent after taking a few pictures. The first section was no problem as it was on the fire trail, but as soon as entered the boulder field, my legs started to complain about the constant pounding from taking the large steps down. I took another well-deserved break at the Cypress Pine lookout and finally made it back down to the visitors centre, not forgetting to sign off the mountain at the book. Unfortunately, I didn’t take time out to stretch my legs at the end and instead just jumped in the car and drove off to do some shopping before returning home. I can see the various people who keep telling me that I must stretch after my hike, shaking their heads, as I’m suffering now and I can only see my stiffness getting worse over the next couple of days.

Posted May 17, 2014 by yermandownunder in Out and about

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

