Homeward Bound   Leave a comment

Easter Monday, 2014

If there’s one thing I’ve learnt in my life, it’s that I’m not a runner, so why is it that I found myself jogging along the beach at 7am this morning? Anyway I knew I had made a big mistake after about two hundred metres, but pride forced me to carry on till the end of the beach at least. By the time I got there, I felt a little better and was starting to get into some sort of stride, so I turned round and ran the full length of the beach the other way. By this time, about 2km in I needed a break, so I went into the sea for a dip and cool down. The last section of the run, back to my starting position was pretty easy and I felt good as I headed for the shower block for a clean-up.

Seeing that I had a big meal last night, I decided just to grab a coffee for breakfast and to eat something on the road on the way back to Canberra. The weather was still okay, but I could feel a bit of a chill in the air this morning, so I was glad I was heading home today, as I reckon it was going to break any day now. As this would probably be my last camping trip of the summer, I took my time packing everything away, making sure the tent was clean and dry and that batteries were removed, etc. So it was around noon by the time I was making my final checks of my camp site and heading off up the Princes Highway.

There are a couple of routes that you can drive back to Canberra from Eden, the first is to go back all the way up the princes Highway to Batemans bay and then take the Kings Highway inland the ACT. The other, is to cut off on the Snowy Mountains Highway through the mountains up to Cooma and then along the Monaro Highway up into Canberra. As most people heading home today would be taking the coastal road, I opted for the mountain route, which in my opinion makes for a far more interesting drive anyway. On the way, I stopped at Pipers Lookout which is located on the top of the ridge that divides the Central Tablelands, on which Canberra is located and the sea.

After this and entering the Alpine town Cooma, I joined the rest of the weekenders tracking along the Monaro Highway and three and half hours after leaving Eden I was entering the underground garage underneath my apartment.

Posted April 21, 2014 by yermandownunder in Observations, Out and about, Travels

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

