Road Trip Day 10 – New Year Test Match, Day 2   Leave a comment

Saturday, 4 January, 2014

Sat in my seat at lunch on the second day of the New Year Test match at Sydney’s SCG and I’m wondering what I’m doing here! Arrived at the ground in good time to catch the start of play at 10:30 but a mix up with some directions saw me at the wrong gate at the other side of the ground from where I should have been. Apron making my way round to the correct gate I heard a roar inside and it was soon apparent that Cook was out in the first over. Then just after taking my seat the second wicket of the day fell and soon after the the third and fourth. 23 for 5, Jesus what is going on. Anyway we’ve made it to 61 for 5 at lunch, still 66 runs short of the follow on (Yes, that’s the way I’m thinking now). On the bright side, the weather’s excellent and I’m sat in the shade under the new stand, which is a bonus. The crowd around me are mostly Brits, so the mood is a bit subdued at the moment, but this is cricket and a ton each from these two batsmen (Stokes & Balance) could make all the difference after lunch. We’ll see…

One word for today’s performance by England, Shocking, Pathetic, Embarrassing. I know that’s three words, but I can’t believe how badly we’ve played today.

 

Posted January 4, 2014 by yermandownunder in Observations, Out and about, Travels

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

