Wetspot Open Day   Leave a comment

Sunday, 10 November, 2013

You may have noticed a pattern emerging in the past few weeks! I’m beginning to blog about places/events that I’ve been to previously. This is one of them, as Nick, Glenn and I went along to the local watersport shop’s Open Day a couple of years ago.

You may also recall that Ciara and I tried (with varying degrees of success!) Paddle Boarding up in Palm Cove, QLD back in August. Ever since, I’ve been harbouring thoughts of buying a board and using it on Lake Burley Griffin, so I jumped at the chance to go along this morning to the Wetspot Open Day in order to try as many different boards as possible, to see which one, if any, suited me best. I went on my own as the boys were either out of town or not too bothered about coming along and when I arrived the event was in full swing with loads of craft at the water’s edge waiting to be tested by the punters.

As well as the Stand Up Paddle boards, there were kayaks of all shapes and sizes and seeing that I had to wait for a SUP to become available, I took a couple of these out for run. When I did get on a couple of the SUP’s, I discovered that was still crap at staying on board, even on the flat waters of the lake. Unfortunately, the weather was getting worst by the minute and the organiser decided to cancel the remainder of the day on safety grounds.

Posted November 10, 2013 by yermandownunder in Observations, Out and about

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

