Thai Food & Cultural Festival   Leave a comment

Sunday, 22 September, 2013

As part of the ‘Windows to the World’ events that have been occurring all around the embassies and diplomatic missions in Canberra over the past few weeks, the Royal Thai Embassy held a Thai food and Cultural day at their compound today. I was supposed to meet Glenn and his family in the gardens, but apparently they had already been and gone by the time I arrived. I turned up on my bike, as I was on my way down into the Parliamentary Zone to watch some professional cycling later. It was a good job that I did, as all the roads around the embassy were jammed packed with cars, some of which looked as though they had been dumped!

Inside it was just as packed, with hundreds of people milling around the various food stalls that had been set up around the perimeter of the grounds. In the centre of the compound the Thai embassy staff had set up a couple of stages, one of which was reserved for a  cover band who were pumping out western pop/rock classics from down the years in a unique and strangely peasant Thai style. The other stage was being used for more traditional performances of Thai dance, music and martial arts.

As you probably expected, I had to try some of the food and drink on offer and with so many food outlets on show I had a difficult choice to make, but in the end I went for some satay chicken washed down with a bottle (or two) of Singha beer. I wanted to stay longer, but the cycle race I had ridden down to see was about to start, so I jumped on the bike and rode down to Federation Mall, which is location in between the Old and New Parliament buildings to catch it.

Posted September 22, 2013 by yermandownunder in Canberra Events, Observations, Out and about

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

