Brumbies v Crusaders   Leave a comment

Sunday, 5 May, 2013

I’m not really a Rugby Union fan, but after another bike ride round the lake with Glenn, James and Grainne, I had a few hours to kill this afternoon, so I decided to go and watch the Brumbies v the Crusaders game. Drove the car down to the bus station in Woden and jumped on the free bus shuttle bus that took me all the way to the Eastern gates of the Bruce Stadium where the Brumbies (Rugby Union) and the Raiders (Rugby League) play their home games. Paid $24 at the ticket office for a bronze seat ticket which has it turned out, got me a pretty decent seat in what they called the Northern Terrace high above one of the corners of the pitch.

Missed the start of the match, as I was at the bar grabbing a pie and a pint (it’s a schooner actually, but a pint sounds better!) and when I got into up into the stands I was surprised to discover that the crowd of 16k had hardly made any noise at kick off. In fact they hardly made any noise all throughout the match! It’s a different crowd to that what goes to watch the Raiders play and I was very disappointed to see that they didn’t get behind their team, especially when they fell behind in the score in the second half. Most of the people who were there, seemed to think it was some sort of social event with groups of teenagers parading around the ground eyeing up the talent, young kids treating the seating as a giant climbing frame and mums noisily catching up on the gossip from around Canberra with their friends.

As you might have guessed, it was not a good experience for me and even though I stayed to the end to watch quite an exciting conclusion to the game, with the Brumbies just failing to overturn a 30 – 23 defeat, I was  glad to be back on the bus and on my home within five minutes of the final whistle being blown. I’ve got some tickets for the Brumbies v the British Loins tour match in mid-June and I’m hoping that the fare on offer that day will be better, otherwise it might be my last Rugby Union game ever!

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

