My Nemesis (again)   Leave a comment

Saturday, 4 May, 2013

It’s been a while since I’ve been off road on my bike. For those of you who don’t remember, on the 7th April, 2013 I fell heavily from my mountain bike up on Bruce Ridge whilst trying to negotiate a log lying across the pathway I was riding. Anyway, as it was another beautiful day when I woke up late this morning (A bit of a heavy night last with James, Grainne, Nick, Angela and Patrick at Belluci’s), I decided to get back on the bike (so to speak!) and take a ride up and over my Nemesis, Red Hill.

The plan was simple, do the original ride to see if I could do it without the pain. Only this time I wanted to reverse the direction so that the worst bits would be at the start. So it was on the bike and up the hill as far as possible on the road till I got to the Red Hill Nature Park where I got onto the fire trail which leads up to the actual top of the hill. Just as was starting up the fire trail I caught sight of a mob of Kangaroos. Jesus, I thought that my lungs were going to burst by the time I got up there and it took me several minutes to catch my breath. Whilst my heart rate was coming down I took the opportunity to take a few pictures of the view and this give me the idea to document my journey with some pictures along the way (see below).  Now, once you’re at the top of a hill the only way is down and I was soon speeding down the side of the hill along the trails till got to the road that leads past the Canberra Grammar School into Manuka. From there it was a short hop pass the Manuka Oval, through Telopea Park to the shores of Lake Burley Griffin at the Kingston Foreshore. Here I rode the 8 or so km’s along the southern edge of the lake past the Parliamentary Triangle to the beginning of the cycle path up to Woden CBD at the Royal Canberra Golf Club. I ride this path regularly after work for a bit of a workout, so I knew I was on the home stretch and after just under two hours and 25km, I arrived back at the apartment ready for a shower and something to eat.

BTW, MapMyRide is an excellent app for mobile devices that tracks your exercise runs be it walking, jogging or riding a bike. Check it out, it’s great fun.

Posted May 4, 2013 by yermandownunder in Observations, Out and about, Travels

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

