Eden to Canberra   Leave a comment

Easter Monday, 2013

As the facilities at Eden Tourist Park campsite were so good, I just had to make breakfast this morning in the fully equipped kitchen on site. So after waking up just after first light and having a swim in the sea, I collected my bacon, sausage and eggs that I purchased last night at the local IGA and had a great fry-up sat outside my tent.

Before I began my journey back to Canberra I wanted to investigate one of the National Parks that surround the town of Eden. Looking at the map I spotted an interesting looking place where I could explore a few natural coves and beaches whilst riding my bike on some great looking trails. So after packing everything away, I took the short journey along the Princes Highway to the turn off for the road that lead into Ben Boyd National Park. At regular intervals along this road were turn offs to various scenic beaches and lookouts (see attached pictures). At the end of the road, Haycock point, I got the bike out and rode back up the road to investigate a couple of the beaches that were inaccessible with the car.

As it was another hot day and I got a bit sweaty on the bike, I took the opportunity to have one last swim in an excellent sheltered cove called Barmouth Beach. However, as time was moving on and I still had a three and half hour drive over the Snowy Mountain roads back to Canberra, I was forced to pack up and get on the road.

Memories!

Great beaches, fantastic views along the coast, interesting pubs and clubs, friendly people from all over Australia and being able to listen to hours and hours of Van Morrison without anyone moaning!

Posted April 1, 2013 by yermandownunder in Out and about, Travels

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

