Perth (Day 5)   Leave a comment

Saturday, 14th July, 2012

I was up early this morning so that I could say goodbye to Pauline, who was going into work. Phill and the girls made us a massive cooked breakfast and just as we were finishing that off, Stuart, Phill and Pauline’s son walked in, fresh from a heavy night in Perth. I’d already spoken to Ray on the phone about what time we’d be arriving at his place down in Bunbury, so we bid our goodbyes to Phill, Sam, Nicola and Stuart and started the hour or so drive down the coast to Ray house.

Ray, Marjorie and their three children, Jess, Jack and Joey live just outside Bunbury and after showing us round their house and a quick cup of coffee we were soon on our way out the door again for a quick tour round Bunbury town and on to Margaret River which Ray said was another hour’s drive south from their place. I was kind of glad that Ray drove us all in his car (I say car, actually it was a monster truck!) so that could sit back and enjoy the beautiful scenery on the way down while Ray and I caught up on all the gossip from back home in the UK.

Margaret River is a town on the Margaret River which also gives its name to the famous wine making region of the same name. Our first stop was the town itself, but to be honest it was nothing to write home about. So after visiting the information centre and a lolly shop we jumped back in the car to find the Colonial Brewing Company brewery for a spot of lunch and a sample of their excellent beers. Of course Ciara and Joey weren’t drinking the beer, well not that I saw anyway! The Margaret River region has a host of activities for the tourist including whale/dolphin watching, surfing, caving etc. However, as we only had the rest of the afternoon to take a look round, we decided to visit the chocolate factory and a couple of the wineries that are dotted around the countryside. First stop was the Margaret River Chocolate Company, this one was for the kids but I think the free chocolate went down well with everyone. Good job there were free samples, as the chocolate on sale was pretty expensive. There are scores of wineries in the Margaret River area and most of them have a cellar door where you can go in to have a chat and taste of some of the wines they produce. Of course you can buy the odd bottle or twelve and after trying some Cabernet Merlot at Sandalford I was persuaded to buy a couple of bottles.

Unfortunately time caught up with us and this being Australia things started to close up at five, so we headed back north to Ray’s place. When we arrived, Jess and her boyfriend, Ben had started to prepare the evening meal, so as Ray and Marjorie finished off the food, Ciara and I made ourselves at home which saw me make a start on the red wine I had purchased earlier. You may know that I’m a red. Now, United fans don’t normally associate with Man City fans and Ray is the biggest ‘Blue Nose’ you’ll find. However,  as Ray had invited me into his home, I thought it only prudent to offer to watch the last ten minutes or so of City’s last game of their Premiership winning season which he had recorded. This was the first time I could bring myself to watch it and I’m glad I didn’t at the time as it was painful to watch, even now. Ray loved it of course! By this time, we were on to our third bottle of wine (I think) and we all settled down to watch a movie (Mission Impossible 4) during which I fell asleep only to be woken up by Ciara at the end of the movie.

Posted July 14, 2012 by yermandownunder in Observations, Travels

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

