James, Top Bloke!   Leave a comment

Sunday, 8th July, 2012

After a nice long lie in, thanks in part to Ciara for going to a sleep over at her friend’s house and me staying up late to watch the Tour de France, Wimbledon, The British Grand Prix etc. late into the night, I got up, had breakfast and rang James to see if he fancied a visit to the National Arboretum on the outskirts of Canberra. James had contacted me late in the week to tell me that he was coming over to Canberra from the UK. Nothing unusual about that as James visits Canberra several times a year, but this time it will be different as he is staying for a few months in order for him to sort out some company business at this end. Turns out that James is staying in the same serviced apartment Gail and I stayed at before we moved into our rented apartment in Garran.

We drove out to the National Arboretum site and parked up. “What’s an Arboretum?” James asked me on the way up the hill, “Don’t know mate, I think it’s something to do with a concert venue” I said. There was a bit of an exhibition at the entrance to the car park and we soon found out that “an Arboretum is a place where trees, shrubs, and herbaceous plants are cultivated for conservation, scientific and educational study, display and preservation.” Mmmm, we headed straight to the discovery garden where the ACT Government and Water board were showing off trees, shrubs, plants and grasses that are tolerant to the restricted watering regime that has been in force in the ACT over the past few years. The main purpose of my visit to the garden was to ask the resident gardener his opinion on the condition of some of the shrubs that sat on our baloney. I had taken some pictures for him to take a look at and he told me that at least one of them was dead due to the severe frost we’ve been having in the last few weeks.

We then took a look at some of the terraced slopes of the Arboretum, before heading up to the top of the hill to take in the view. There’s a lot of building work going on and it will be very interesting to see what the place looks like when it’s finished. As Ciara had rang me to inform me that she was going to the ice rink for the afternoon, we decided to pay a visit to the Old Bus Depot Markets in Kingston, where we caught the last hour of the weekly market held there. James bumped into a couple of people he knew and while he was chatting I took the opportunity to look at some of the excellent artwork on show on some of the stalls.

At 15:40 I received a call from Ciara asking where I was. When I told her that I was at the markets, she told that I was supposed to pick her up at 15:30. “James,” I said, “what time did Ciara tell you to earlier when you took the call for me?” “18:30” he replied. Oops, there followed a mad dash to pick Ciara from the Ice Rink.

Why the “Top Bloke” tag in the header of this post? You’ll have to ask Ciara that one!

Posted July 8, 2012 by yermandownunder in Out and about

Leave a Reply

yermandownunder

A Blog about Mario's life down under!

